All Things Bright And Beautiful

Today is the 4th anniversary of my mother’s passing away. Ever since that time, every little thing that reminds me of her is very valuable. Like this letter which I’m holding right now. It is actually a love letter by my mother to my father. In the last section of the letter is a poem which my mother learned when she was 10 years old. She committed it to memory since that time and in her letter she dedicates it to my father. I did a google search for this poem and it turns out that it’s a song.
Here is the poem:

All Things Bright And Beautiful

All things bright and beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful:
The Lord God made them all.

Each little flower that opens,
Each little bird that sings,
He made their glowing colors,
He made their tiny wings.

The rich man in his castle,
The poor man at his gate,
He made them, high or lowly,
And ordered their estate.

The purple headed mountains,
The river running by,
The sunset and the morning
That brightens up the sky.

The cold wind in the winter,
The pleasant summer sun,
The ripe fruits in the garden,
He made them every one.

The tall trees in the greenwood,
The meadows where we play,
The rushes by the water,
To gather every day.

He gave us eyes to see them,
And lips that we might tell
How great is God Almighty,
Who has made all things well.

And here is the song:

Published by

Bobby Corpus

Loves anything related to Mathematics, Physics, Computing and Economics.

8 thoughts on “All Things Bright And Beautiful”

  1. My mom also died of cancer due to second hand smoke from my dad and bro-in-law’s chainsmoking, and our burned brother’s smoking for the lamok!!!

  2. Hi Auggie,

    I’m sorry to hear about what happened to your mom. Cancer is really a death sentence. I never thought it would happen to any member of my family. It was very hard to see my mom’s organs failing one after another and the inevitability of her death. I think she got brain-dead or coma just before she died. She cannot anymore talk. I should have said my goodbye just before it happened. But what can I do?

  3. Death is the debt we all have to pay due to sin that ruined our former Edenic existence!!!

    But if we put faith in Christ a personal Lord and Saviour, we’ll resurrect to be in his eternal and blissful presence, even much ecstatic than marital bliss!!! That’s what Ecclesiastes concluded: enjoy life and live responsibly, because death will come when we can’t do so already!! And if we fear God, all the meaninglessnesses and vanities of all vanities will vanish in His eternal bliss!!!

  4. We have similar experiences about the deaths of our moms, like my mom died of cancer din, and I was not here when she breath her last because I was still in UP!!

    Hindi pa tapos ang mourning namin one after the other, sunod-sunod na kamalasan sa aming pamilya na very dysfunctional!!! Kaya, I also almost died in 2004 to be forced to retire!!!

    But if you have some consulting job for me, put me in for me to subscribe to like SMARTBro na 4500 pesos/year lang yata, 24/7 services, and I can maybe, write more blogs maybe at moloycule for our research adventures!!! Let’s continue enjoying life and live responsibly!! If I were still strong and healthy like you, I’d get married also to enjoy a wify till the day I’ll die. I already survived a mild stroke, but I don’t know till when I’ll live, because I can die anytime!!! Uncertainty Principle!!!

    Try mo basahin ang Bible Code like the first volume of the two, kasi merong parts about physics, e.g., quantum physics, uncertainty principle, etc… in relation to bible prophecy as revealed by the bible code that is basically very computational in its workings!!!!

  5. Yep, ang ganda ng mga boses ng mga kids singing that romantic song!!! Like the Vienna Boys’ Choir, or the UP Cherubims/Seraphims!!!

    Miss talking with you, kasi poor pa ako ngayon, wala pang work to a 24/7 internet access!!!

  6. It was extremely difficult for me to be acutely unemotional while reading this blog entry…
    My mother succumbed to Biliary CA on March 25, 2004. It was already in its final stage when it was discovered. Pain only left her after she had her last breath.
    Nanay made my sib and I memorize this poem during our preschool years. We delivered All Things Bright and Beautiful on countless occasions in front of relatives and family friends. She even recorded our recitation on a recycled cassette tape album of Liberace which amazingly is still in good audio condition.
    The poem resonates God’s beauty imprinted in nature’s grandeur…

Leave a Reply

